Writing at the College

People

WRITING AT THE COLLEGE LEADERSHIP

Carolyn Ayers, PhD
Associate Dean of General Education

Peggy Johnson, PhD
Director, Office of College Writing

 

WRITING ADVISORY GROUP

A working group of stakeholders across the College provides insight, information, and advice regarding the teaching and learning of academic writing. In addition to participating in monthly meetings, the Writing Advisory Group offers structural support, reaches out to colleagues to share writing goals, sets short- and long-term priorities, and promotes the growth of writing across the curriculum.

Writing Advisory Group Roster

Carolyn Ayers, Ph.D.

Carolyn Ayers, Ph.D.

Associate Dean of General Education

Professor,
Department of English
Lasallian Honors Program

cayers@smumn.edu
507-457-1523
Saint Mary’s Hall, SM205

Peggy Johnson, Ph.D.

Peggy Johnson, Ph.D.

Director, Office of College Writing

Quality Writing Paradigm
Writing Studio
Outreach Programs

pjohnson@smjumn.edu
507-457-1460
Student Success Center, Griffin 70B

Pat Calton, Ph.D.

Pat Calton, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Department of Philosophy
Lasallian Honors Program

pcalton@smumn.edu
507-457-1550
Saint Mary’s Hall, SM309

Erin Mae Clark, Ph.D.

Erin Mae Clark, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Department of English

eclark@smumn.edu
507-457-6643
Saint Mary’s Hall, SM403

Anne Conway, M.A.

Anne Conway, M.A.

Literacy Specialist

aconway@smumn.edu
507-457-6607
Saint Mary’s Hall, SM36D

Tycho de Boer, Ph.D.

Tycho de Boer, Ph.D.

Department Chair, Associate Professor

Department of History

tdeboer@smumn.edu
507-457-6995
Saint Mary’s Hall, SM235

Walter Elder, M.F.A.

Walter Elder, M.F.A.

Assistant Professor

Department of Theatre and Dance

welder@smumn.edu
507-457-1518
Saint Mary’s Hall, SM308

Shahid Hussain, M.S., MBA, LL.B., DAIBP, CPA

Shahid Hussain, M.S., MBA, LL.B., DAIBP, CPA

Assistant Professor

Department of Business

shussain@smumn.edu
507-457-1434
Saint Mary’s Hall, SM429D

Molly Lohnes, M.A.

Molly Lohnes, M.A.

Instructor, ESL Specialist

De La Salle Language Institute
Department of English

mlohnes@smumn.edu
507-457-1776
The Heights, HT102

Deb Martin, Ph.D.

Deb Martin, Ph.D.

Professor

Department of Biology

dmartin@smumn.edu
507-457-1628
Saint Mary’s Press, SMPG

Patrick O'Shea, D.M.A.

Patrick O'Shea, D.M.A.

Professor

Department of Music

poshea@smumn.edu
507-457-1598
Saint Yon’s Hall, SY150

Megan Peterson, M.L.I.S.

Megan Peterson, M.L.I.S.

Instruction & Digital Services Librarian

Fitzgerald Library

mepeters@smumn.edu
507-457-1511
Fitzgerald Library, LB

Steve Schild, Ed.D.

Associate Professor

Department of Communication

sschild@smumn.edu
507-457-1753
Saint Mary’s Hall, SM322

Karen Sorvaag, Ed.D.

Karen Sorvaag, Ed.D.

Department Chair, Professor

Department of Education

ksorvaag@smumn.edu
507-457-6638
Griffin Hall, GR206

Jason Spartz, M.A.

Jason Spartz, M.A.

Director

Instructional Technology

jspartz@smumn.edu
507-457-1641
Saint Mary’s Hall, SM126B

Writing Studio Tutors

Carolyn Klaesges

Major: Marketing and Business Intelligence

Favorite Quote: “I was hiding under your porch because I love you” -Dug (Up)

Current Obsession: Tasty Videos

Maggie Klonowski

Major: Literature with a Writing Emphasis

Favorite Quote: “A day without laughter is a day wasted.” -Charlie Chaplin

Current Obsession: Pinterest

Meagan Campbell

Major: Biochemistry

Favorite Quote: “And those who were seen dancing were thought to be insane by those who could not hear the music.” -Frederick Nietzsche

Current Obsession: Anything to do with Halloween

Stephen Fishbune

Majors: History and Mathematics

Favorite Quote: “The best way out is always through.” -Robert Frost

Current Obsession: Mr. Robot

Gloria Kranenburg

Major: Psychology, Minor: Biology

Favorite Quote: “You miss 100% of the shots you don’t take. -Wayne Gretzky” -Michael Scott (The Office)

Current Obsession: Travel Mugs